Stolen Kisses (Barrington Billionaires #2) by Ruth Cardello Reviewed

Standard
Stolen Kisses (Barrington Billionaires #2) by Ruth Cardello Reviewed

stolen kisses

 

41xxE+0uuGL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Title: Stolen Kisses
Author: Ruth Cardello
Publication Date: February 29, 2016

my thoughts

Dax Marshall isn’t the type of man a woman takes home to meet her parents. He’s a business shark who has never let anything as insignificant as caring stop him from taking over a company. Some call him heartless, but he doesn’t see the value of caring about anyone or anything until he meets Kenzi.

Her happiness becomes his obsession.

Kenzi Barrington has tried to be the person her family needed her to be, but she doesn’t want to lie anymore. When she can’t hold a dark secret in another day, she turns to the one man she knows is strong enough to hear the truth.

What starts as a simple attraction becomes a friendship that changes how they both define love.

my thoughts

I always enjoyed Ruth Cardello’s novels. And just when I thought she’s written her best one yet, she come around with something even better. For me this is her most emotional novel thus far.

I have probably reiterated so much in my previous reviews how I’m not a fan of love at first sight or whirlwind romances. This is not a love at first sight but I guess this qualifies as whirlwind romance. But somehow that thought didn’t bother me with Kenzi and Dax’ story. I guess it’s because of the way Dax’ had seen Kenzi the first time considering that the way they met was not very ideal. I liked how he understood her needs more than anyone who knew her ever did and how he put those needs first before his own.

Kenzi’s life experience was heartbreaking. I feel her so much even though I personally hate the name Kenzi. Funny how I didn’t even noticed her name much until I wrote this review. I guess that showed how much individuality Ruth’s characters have that you can see them for who they are and not relate their name to anyone else.

Kenzi’s family can get a little overbearing at times yet you can see how they love her in the way they know. This bit gave the story humor which made it all the more enjoyable to read.

What I love most about this story was how the characters grew. And mind you, I don’t mean just the main characters but everyone of them that is in this book. And as usual, I love how Ruth’s story is about family, friendship and love… how to understand each others as friends and/or as family even during those times when you don’t even understand yourself. For me, that will never ever get old. Because at the end of the day, that is what makes life bearable at hard times and more satisfying during the good times.

images

purchase links

Amazon
B&N
iBooks
Kobo
Googleplay

8 responses »

  1. Pingback: Deja Revu March 6, 2016 – Celebrity Readers

  2. Pingback: Déjà Revu #2 : March 6 | vs. The Writer

Leave a comment