Book Club Read: Chasing Day Break by Ranae Glass Reviewed

Standard
Book Club Read: Chasing Day Break by Ranae Glass Reviewed

24930831

blurb

Isabel Stone wanted a normal life. But when the unexpected death of her father leaves her at the helm of the family business, things quickly go from weird to worse. Vampires are on the loose and out of the coffin, and only Isabel can walk the fine line between the world of the living and the world of the undead.

Torn between letting go of her past and embracing her future, Isabel will have to decide who she can trust, and be willing to use all the weapons at her disposal, to get to the bottom of a terrifying string of deaths that lead right to her doorstep—before she becomes the next victim. In a city where nothing is what it seems, ending up the target of a deranged killer might actually be the high point of her week. Because in this town, the things that go bump in the night… just might kill you.

my thoughts

WARNING: CONTAINS SPOILER

To be honest, I probably would have ended up DNFing this book if this wasn’t a book club pick. The story started with something that got me feeling lost and the chapters that follow didn’t really caught my attention that much. But despite all that I’m glad that I finished this book. If you ask why, I’d say Xavier.

For a novel that involves vampire and probably other paranormal creature (it’s hinting that there’s more than just vampire in the future), I feel like this novel was a little bit slow and didn’t really became interesting until it got to the middle. To be fair, no vampire novel has really caught my interest for more than a year now so it’s probably all me and got nothing to do with the author’s writing and all that.

It also didn’t help that I found Shane to be an ass hat. Pity, because we share the same name. But with all the way he was acting, I couldn’t sympathize with him at all. I like Isabel though and her sisters even though they seem to be on different ends of the spectrum. And I think it’s one of Isabel’s sister that asked why Shane and Isabel were not together and she said it’s because of the difference that they came upon. Then her sister said that if she really loved him none of that would matter (not in that exact words but something to that effect) and I was like, Shane doesn’t even bother to ponder those same thing so yeah, I don’t think Isabel was to be blamed if she felt the way she did. Shane didn’t even show much effort to working on it.

However, I think that things took a hundred eighty degrees turn when Xavier entered the picture. He’s this other vampire who was digging Isabel. And I was like, how come he doesn’t care if they were different? Sure you can argue that maybe because he doesn’t really felt anything deep but still, his actions just added more to my dislike on Shane.

I may not like how this book started but I think that the story got better half way to the end and at the same time the author’s writing did too. You could probably guess that my favorite character thus far was Xavier, and if there’s somebody who will convince me to read the next part of this book, it will definitely be him and that little girl in the end.

3.5-stars

  Free on Amazon 

Other Reviews for this book:

Celebrity Readers ~ Curly
The Bohemian Housewife ~ Alisha
Platypire Reviews ~ Jood Hooligan

7 responses »

  1. Pingback: Deja Revu March 6, 2016 – Celebrity Readers

  2. Pingback: Déjà Revu #2 : March 6 | vs. The Writer

Leave a comment