The Eureka Key (Secrets of the Seven #1) by Sarah L. Thomson Reviewed

Standard

25663631

Title: The Eureka Key (Secrets of the Seven #1)

Author: Sarah L. Thomson

Published by: Bloomsbury

Publication Date: April 5, 2016

60e34-rcpr-blurb

When middle school puzzle master Sam and history wiz Martina win a contest for a summer trip across the US, they discover they’ve been drafted into something vastly more extraordinary. Joining another kid on the trip, Theo, a descendant of George Washington himself, they must follow clues to find seven keys left behind by the Founding Fathers. Together the keys unlock Benjamin Franklin’s greatest invention–a secret weapon intended to defend the country. Each key is hidden in a unique location around the U.S., protected with puzzles, riddles, and traps. This has kept the weapon safe . . . until now! Gideon Arnold, a dangerous descendant of the infamous Benedict Arnold, is on the chase.

In competition with Arnold and his thugs to reach the artifacts first, Sam, Martina, Theo, and readers must use their wits to solve ingenious puzzles, escape death-by-booby-trap, and, by the end of the series, save our nation by uncovering many of its greatest secrets.

my thoughts

I got this book from Netgalley and I’m very glad I’ve been approved. I requested this book because it says middle grade and I need one for my Reading Challenge. Although it said Middle Grade, for me this feel more like a Young Adult.

If you enjoy adventure books like Percy Jackson series, I think you’ll enjoy this one too. I’m not American but I felt like I learned a lot about American History with this one (if what it tells is based on facts) and the Revolution without feeling bored. I kinda even looked forward to hearing the history from Marty every time she rambled about it.

I like Sam very much. His character is very much flawed and even a tad annoying in the beginning but once you start to warm up to his character, he’s pretty much likable. Admirable even. Theo is a little mysterious and even by the end, I still find him mysterious. I think there’s more to him that will come in future books.

I enjoyed the whole adventure side of this book and I already want to read the next one. I felt like I was brought to the tour myself and went to another place. No dull moments too. There are hilarious parts, dramatic, and at times I even found myself holding my breathe. If you have kids in the middle grade and young adult bracket, this is highly recommended. If you love YA Adventure, I highly recommend this to you, too.

images

 

12 responses »

  1. Pingback: Deja Revu 3/20/16 - The Bohemian Housewife

  2. Pingback: Déjà Revu Vol 4: March 20, 2016 | vs. The Writer

  3. Pingback: Deja Revu | Lilac Reviews

  4. Pingback: Deja Revu March 20, 2016 – Celebrity Readers

  5. Good review. I know you said it felt more like a Young Adult but would you recommend this for a 9 year old to read? I am starting to get him to find different books that will make him want to read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment