Back of Beyond by Neeny Boucher Reviewed

Standard

180af-back2bof2bbeyondTitle: Back of Beyond
Author: Neeny Boucher
Publication Date: March 20, 2016

my thoughts

Dina Martin and Nicholas Riley are total opposites. She’s the good girl with the perfect grades and he’s the bad boy with a reputation. Growing up together with close family ties, they have been at war as long as they can remember. When the unthinkable happens, neither of them wants it. Set in a small town at the turn of the millennium, this story is about family and friendship, the love of music and how sometimes who you don’t want, is exactly who you need.

Please note: this is what I would describe as realistic YA. There are some scenes and themes that may not be to everyone’s taste.

my thoughts

I don’t know if it’s because I’ve read Lost in Flight already but I found that I enjoyed Back of Beyond much more than I did Lost in Flight. There’s a beauty in reading about Riley and Dina when they were way younger, seeing them grow and know their selves as well as the people around them.

I even appreciate Dina’s friends more after seeing what the three of them has gone through. Gabby is super adorable. She made me laugh out loud countless of times throughout the book. Her innocence and honesty are quite refreshing. And Riley, he’s a bit annoying at first but he kinds of grows on you along the way. Even Mason was funny.

Reading Back of Beyond was exhilarating and fun which I guess describe not only the experience of reading it but the book as well. It kind of made me look back to my high school years and think if I made bad decisions or was pressured by the same stuff. I really enjoyed reading this book. Neeny did an awesome job writing this one.

four star

AMAZON LINK

9 responses »

  1. Pingback: Deja Revu, April 11 2016 – Celebrity Readers

  2. Pingback: Déjà Revu: Vol #7 | vs. The Writer

  3. Pingback: Deja Revu April 11, 2016 – Celebrity Readers

Leave a comment