Bound by Duty by Stormy Smith Reviewed

Standard

22818032

Title: Bound by Duty
Author: Stormy Smith
Publication Date: July 23, 2014

my thoughts

Amelia grew up in a world of half-truths. She knows she’s an Elder, but has no idea what that means. Her father reminds her daily that she must maintain control, but he refuses to explain why. Even worse, she’s betrothed to the prince of the Immortals and doesn’t even know his name.

Finally breaking free to live a few normal years at a community college, the last thing Amelia expects is to find her best friend in a cheeky southern girl, or fall for a self-assured human who sees her for who she is, not what she will become.

As she learns more about herself, Amelia realizes the line between love and duty is a thin one. As her power continues to increase exponentially and her questions are slowly answered, Amelia must make the ultimate choice. The question is, will her head win the battle, or her heart?

my thoughts

I got this book because I was enamored by the cover. And also, this book started really interesting with the prologue going on like it did. I like the concept of the story and how it’s a different look on magical people.

However being not a fan of whirlwind romances and instant attractions Amelia kind of got on the wrong side of me. Also for someone who’s suppose to be so powerful, I felt like the way she was described and how she was acting was pretty contradictory. Aiden didn’t help to make me like her either. His character and  how it developed, in the end was predictable for me. Then Amelia made this stupid decision in the end which made me actually hate her. I feel like coming inside the book and ask her, ‘are you even thinking?’ So, if the  author’s goal was to make me feel irritated with Amelia and her choices, I can say she succeeded.

Micah, I don’t know if I like  him or not but I don’t trust him. I mean, Amelia has this feeling of unease towards him at the start and then suddenly it took an 180 degrees turn and they are the new best friends. What was that? I thought heroines intuition play a part too and I was pretty sure Amelia’s was right and I felt like she failed me once again.

I like Cole, though. I like the big brother that he is. I like Julia because as an antagonist she played the part well. I want to know how the prologue will exactly play out for her in the end. So yeah, I’ll probably still read the next one.

3-stars-out-of-5

 

 

 

purchase links

Amazon | Barness and Noble | Kobo | iBooks

 

 

 

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Deja Revu | Lilac Reviews

  2. Pingback: Déjà Revu Vol. #6 | vs. The Writer

  3. Pingback: Deja Revu April 3, 2016 – Celebrity Readers

Leave a comment