Squirrel Bait (Dollar Dreadfuls Book 1) by C.P. Davis Reviewed

Standard
Squirrel Bait (Dollar Dreadfuls Book 1) by C.P. Davis Reviewed

29243507

Title: Squirrel Bait
Author: C.P. Davis
Publication Date: February 22, 2016

 

blurb

Tonya the librarian has an unusual passion for books, even for a librarian. When her books are harmed she takes it personally. When people turn up dead over damaged books, there are questions to answer. When the killer is a weresquirrel, the questions become more confusing.

There is a certain pretentiousness in classical literature. Elegant writing filled with meaning both astounding and sublime. This is not that. Not horrific enough to be horror, nor humorous enough to be comedy, welcome to Chip’s Dollar Dreadfuls. There may not be any fundamental truths, but there will be blood…so much blood.

my thoughts

As I am writing this post, I just realized that this is the first book I bought in 2016 that is not part of a series from previous year. In other words, I just broke my rule of no buying books for 2016. In my defense, I was waiting for this book to be release last year.

This is a short story and is good if you’re looking for something not totally light but not totally serious either. And exactly what I need after reading all those super heavy stuff I was reading the last 2 weeks.

When I first read the short story of this last year from the author’s blog, I was highly entertained because it’s a little different from your usual paranormal. And since the main character here love books so much, I liked her instantly. However, I was wondering how this will unfold into a bigger story. And well, let’s just say it was worth the wait.

I like how the author answered some questions I pondered upon after I read the short story version. I would probably have some doubts and be surprised later if I haven’t read the short story version so I think that part of the story was done really well. It was a bloody mess too and a lot of killings took place but not too gore as to get turned off and stop reading.  It’s even complete with humor , drama and a touch of romance.

I also loved every character in this book. And there are characters at the end that promise  something more to look forward to, and I’m I definitely will. If you’re looking for a short read that would have you anxiously turning the pages, laugh a bit, and love a bit… this one is for you. And if you’re a bookworm like Tonya, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it too.

images

Available on Amazon and Kindle Unlimited : Chip’s Dollar Dreadfuls Book 1

logo

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Deja Revu March 6, 2016 – Celebrity Readers

  2. Pingback: Déjà Revu #2 : March 6 | vs. The Writer

Leave a comment