Wonder by R.J. Palacio Reviewed

Standard

41dfXsZcQDL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_ Title: Wonder
Author: R.J. Palacio
Genre: Middle Grade Fiction
Publication Date: February 14, 2012
Pages: 322 pages
blurb

I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

my thoughts

I got this book from the library because I felt like the cover was calling for me. And I’m glad I borrowed this book. It has so many feels and though I can’t completely picture out how August look, my heart goes out to him. I feel like I was transported back in time when I was his age as I read along.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading through each character’s perspective and I love how it gave insight to they truly feel. This book showed not only dealing, interacting, empathizing with people with deformities but also shows how peer pressure, environment and upbringing can affect how a person acts, reacts and deals with things that come their way. Although this is supposed to be a children’s book, for me it is a good book for any age and I believe all of us can learn or at least pick up a reminder or two from this story.

The only issue I have with this book is the way Justin’s POV was written. It was like everything went haywire and the format was absolutely wrong. It was a bit hard to read that part. Other than that, the book was a great read for me.

 

Four-half-stars

AMAZON BOOK LINK

About shyunique

accountant by profession, a dreamer by heart, and a frustrated artist by nature ___________________________________________________________________________________ The only thing that stands between a person and what they want in life is the will to try and the faith to believe it's possible.

Leave a Reply

