Crossing the Barrier by Martine Lewis

Standard

29581996blurb

High school student Malakai Thomas, star wide receiver of the varsity team, collides with band member Lily Morgan on his way to football practice. As days go by, Malakai cannot get the petite clarinetist out of his head.
Lily Morgan can feel everyone’s emotions. She loses her ability to shield herself against them the day Malakai runs into her. Now she must try to maintain her sanity in the emotional jungle that is high school, as well as deal with her growing feelings for Malakai.
Can Malakai get over the social stigma and his own internal struggle to be with Lily? Is Lily’s secret too big to accept, even for him?

my thoughts

I’ve been hearing good things about this book for quite some time now and so I was really looking forward to reading it. I guess it could be classified as NA Romance with a touch of paranormal which isn’t really my thing. I usually tend to shy away from NA books but I could honestly say I’m glad to have read this one. It’s not like the other NAs that I used to read.

I can say I like all of the characters, the annoying ones included. I like Lily’s strength which is why I was sort of disturbed and  a tad disappointed in the way she handled the story’s conflict with regards to Malakai. I like Sandra for being such a good friend to Lily. I like how Malakai stood his ground on things. I like Wes, even if he’s annoying because he makes me curious. I think underneath all that annoying things he did that there’s a bigger thing he’s trying to hide and maybe trying to escape from. But among all of them, it’s actually David I like the most. Partly because somehow I can relate to his situation the most and also because he’s such a great brother and friend.

The story was very interesting. It has caught my interest that I was able to finish reading it through text-to-speech which is the only way for me to be able to read at that time. I have tried reading text-to-speech before but I never quite finish a book through listening through and this is the first time.

I have a few questions regarding Lily’s condition which I’m hopeful to get answered through the next book when based on how this one ended.

This more like a story of love, friendships, and family which for me is always a plus on a story. I really enjoyed it and I’m looking forward to reading the next book which I think comes out a couple of days before my birthday. Which means, I won’t likely to forget about it.

Four-half-stars

BUY ON AMAZON | Check more reviews on Goodreads

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

