Creatura by Nely Cab Reviewed

Standard

25431515

When seventeen year-old Isis Martin is having trouble sleeping due to perturbing dreams of a horrific growling beast, she decides to confront her fear. But what Isis discovers is something other than a menacing entity.

The human-like creature offers Isis assurance that he is not a figment of her imagination. Unwilling to accept his avowal, Isis sets his words to contest by asking the entity to prove himself—a dare, he readily welcomes.

It is in her dreams that Isis innocently stumbles upon the silent existence of the divine lineage of those that man has long forgotten.

In a quaint town, deep in south Texas, this story leads Isis onto the path of impermissible love and captivating life-changing truths. Isis Martin’s journey is sure to leave any reader ravenous for more.

my thoughts

As I didn’t really read the blurb before I started reading it, (although I probably did when I first heard of the book but have forgotten what it says) I have no idea what I was getting into when I finally decided to read it. But I think that was a good thing because the book hooked me in after the first paragraph.

The story has a touch of originality into it although the Gabriel bit of the conflict was a bit predictable for me. I like all of the characters. They were fun to read and also endearing. I was amused the most with the twins but among all the characters, it was David I love most. I think I enjoyed reading about his character the most because of his old fashion virtues that I grew up with. To be honest, this is the first book in my indie reading experience where courtship was mentioned. I know times have changed and even in my country, it’s not done exactly the way David did it but I like how he went through those stages of the relationship with Isis. I love not just the actions he did for Isis but also the fact that he’s not in a rush.

For someone who loves Greek mythology, I love  small portion of reference into it. Although there are a lot of questions left hanging and the story even ended up in a cliffhanger, I enjoyed the story very much. I’m sure you can tell that I’ll be reading the next one.

images

Amazon Link

Leave a Reply

