The Red Zone (Big Play #2) by Jordan Ford Reviewed

Standard
The Red Zone (Big Play #2) by Jordan Ford Reviewed

29777927

Title: The Red Zone
Author: Jordan Ford
Genre: Young Adult Romance
Release Date: April 18, 2016
my thoughts

Mack Mahoney is hot, popular and used to getting exactly what he wants…until he sets his sights on the new girl—Kaija Bennett. She’s an exchange student from New Zealand and attending Nelson High for three months. Mack’s never been one for love at first sight, but this chick has him feeling things he never knew existed within him and in spite of her feisty rejections, he’s determined to get to know her.

Kaija Bennett did not escape her New Zealand high school only to be dragged into the popular crowd at Nelson High. She’s on the run from a past she wants to forget, and the attention of the gorgeous quarterback is not helping. Can she resist his pulling power and keep her secret safe? Or will the dynamic football captain unearth the truth and make her fall harder than she ever has before?

my thoughts

My feelings are torn with regards to this book. On one hand, love at first sight stories are not really my thing and considering that this is Young adult that adds more to my personal negative bias. Because it’s this stage when I can’t truly believe that the love they share is really love and I’m weary that they might change their mind in the future about each other.

All through the middle of the book I was so sure I wouldn’t like this book as much as I liked the first one that Jordan Ford wrote but somewhere near the end, when Kaija’s character was let known I kind of appreciated her a bit more. Also even though I wasn’t feeling the development of feelings between Kaija and Mack, I was moved by how Mack worked to win her in the end.

Still, there were a few stuff that bug me including with how the book end. It left me questions about their relationship but hopefully, I’ll get to see that work out in the next book.

I think the story and the writing is good and whatever reservations I have about this book, it’s mostly due to my personal preference.

3-stars-out-of-5

BOOK LINKS: Amazon |B&N

Leave a Reply

