The Playmaker by Jordan Ford Reviewed

Standard

29336393

Title: The Playmaker (Big Play #1)
Author: Jordan Ford
Publication Date: March 22, 2016

my thoughts

This is it—Tori Lomax’s senior year.
Her last chance to leave Nelson High without a bucketload of regrets.
Number one priority—get Colt Burgess to fall in love with her. So what if he’s the Raider’s number one playmaker? So what if he’s so far out of her league, the idea of them together would rupture the school’s social order?
She has to try, before it’s too late.
She’s come up with the perfect set of plays. All Colt has to do now is buy into them.

Colt Burgess wants one thing: to play football after high school. But his grades are tanking and his dreams of playing college ball are fading…fast. He shouldn’t waste time on Tori Lomax. However, she was a friend back in middle school, and he can’t really ignore her small request for a favor. How hard can it be to get the guy she’s lusting after to notice her?
He’ll help her out, and then he’ll focus on what’s really important: football.
Assuming he can stop thinking about her…

my thoughts

Tori isn’t something like me at all, yet reading The Playmaker felt like I rode a time machine to my high school years. This book brings the feelings you have back then, the worries you used to have thinking life revolves around those. Actions you badly wanted to take thinking it was your last chance.

This book was well written and I believed it portrayed well what it wanted to portray. I love all the characters in this novel too. There are mature ones, a little too childish ones, arrogant ones… well you know, pretty much everyone in high school.

I was just a little disappointed that it didn’t tell at the last part if Tori ever figured out what she really wanted to do. I hope to see that in the other books.

I’m glad that I was given a chance to read this early. It was a breathe of fresh air from all the heavy and serious stuff I read from last month. I’m looking forward for more of what Jordan Ford have for us in the future.

 

purchase links

AMAZON US  /  AMAZON UK  /  AMAZON CA  /  AMAZON AU

four star

b446f-about2bauthor

Jordan Ford is a young adult romance author.

“Writing high school romances brings me the greatest joy. My heart bubbles, my insides zing, and I am at my happiest when immersed in a great scene with characters who have become real to me.”

Her first series, The Big Game Novels is based on a high school football team in the fictional town of Nelson, Idaho. The first book, The Playmaker, comes out March 22nd, 2016.

“I can’t wait to share this series with people. I’ve totally fallen in love with this team and the girls that win their hearts.”

 

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Déjà Revu Vol 4: March 20, 2016 | vs. The Writer

  2. Pingback: Deja Revu March 20, 2016 – Celebrity Readers

Leave a Reply

