Unlucky in Love by Jill Sanders Reviewed

Standard

 

27159487

Title: Unlucky in Love
Author: Jill Sanders
Publication Date: March 8, 2016

blurb

Kristen Collins is cursed. It’s the only explanation for this recent run of catastrophes. She’s lost her brand-new car and a winning lottery ticket, and her ex-boyfriend just drove off with all her possessions. She’s even lost the empty office that’s been her lunchtime sanctuary. Plus, the new hire who’s taken it over is precisely the kind of impending heartache she knows to avoid, from his intense gaze to that irresistible crooked smile.

Developer Aiden Scott plans to stay at the Denver architecture firm just long enough to prime it for takeover. A job like his can’t get personal. Yet from the moment he collides with Kristen, he’s smitten. He wants to save the stunning interior designer from every crazy scenario she winds up in. But who’s going to save him when his business agenda shatters Kristen’s trust?

Turns out, love’s a lot like luck. You don’t know just how good you have it until you stand to lose it all.

my thoughts

After reading the first three chapters of this book, I thought I won’t like it. I don’t like the main character – Kristen. I felt like she’s too gullible, weak and stupid and I just hate female characters like that. However, I liked the hero’s character instantly even if he was not introduced immediately.

But I was wrong. Soon enough, my perception of this book has changed. At least, I’m glad to see this character growing up and learning from her mistakes. I eve found her adorable at the end.

Although I didn’t expect to like this book with that kind of introduction, I find that I really enjoyed myself reading it. It was short (well, at least it felt short), sweet, romantic, even funny at times. This is very light to read which is exactly what I need after reading all the dark and heavy stuffs before this one.

I even like the other minor characters. They add to the fun of the story. And I felt like it wouldn’t be the same if you take out any of them.

This is my first time to read this author and I’m really glad bumping through it at Netgalley. This will surely not be the last time I’ll read this author.

four star

Buy Links to follow

Leave a Reply

