Her Forever Hero by Melody Anne Reviewed

Standard

25814348

Title: Her Forever Hero
Author: Melody Anne
Publication Date: February 23, 2016

blurb

Growing up in a big adoptive family, gorgeous small-town attorney Cam has always had a life rich with love. But the one thing he’s missing is the perfect woman to grow old and raise a family with—and send sparks flying on those cold Montana nights! Still, Cam knows if it wasn’t for his caring parents and brothers, he wouldn’t be where he is today, so he tries to pay it forward whenever he can. And if the client happens to be a modern-day damsel in distress, he’ll happily don a suit of shining armor. This time, his sister-in-law’s best friend Grace is in serious trouble, and Cam’s determined to get his smart, beautiful client off the hook. But as attorney-client privilege brings Cam and Grace closer than they ever imagined, the sexual tension heats up. It’s clear before the gavel comes down that the verdict is going to be red hot!

my thoughts

This is the third book to the Unexpected Heroes series by Melody Anne and I got this book form Netgalley.

The story as a whole was okay and I enjoyed it. However, I cannot say that I loved this book as much as I loved the others. I’m a fan of Melody. Her novels always have a way of touching your emotions, funny and sometimes include drama and a little suspense. I guess this book was trying to achieve the same things. I can see from the way the plot was moving forward.

I think what didn’t work for me was the heroine. I feel like she was dragging the story down that there was no choice but to go in circles. Thus, the middle part of the novel felt a little bit slow. Also, the suspense part was not actively done. In some of her other books, I can ‘see’ the events unfolding rather than reading about it. I almost thought that there really was no case and it was just another scheme by Martin Whitman to play cupid. Also, I don’t think the anxiety she kept getting when she is in a hospital was ever resolved.

The other half of the story was better. Like when the heroine stopped second guessing herself and actually face what was before her, the story moved a lot better and more steady. And when  hell broke lose when her ex-boyfriend made an appearance.

I really liked Camden though. He was patient, and loving and over all hero material. I also admired the friendship he has with his friends and how they are there for each other when they are needed. And also Camden’s family. I have followed this series because I really enjoyed watching Camden and his family through each story.

Michael’s little preview at the end was highly intriguing and I feel like I’ll enjoy that much more than this one. Also, I wonder if Grace ever found out about the things Camden did for her without her knowledge and how she reacted about it (i.e. the cctv installed over her new place).

All things considered, I can say I still enjoyed most part of the book and I’m excited to read the next one.

3-stars-out-of-5

Pre-order: Amazon

7 responses »

    • And it didn’t help that there are a couple of unresolve stuff. Does that count as loophole? Because I don’t think it will be answered in the next book.

      Like

Leave a Reply

