Hanover House by Brenda Novak Reviewed

Standard

25394138

Title: Hanover House (Hanover House Chronicles 0.5)
Author: Brenda Novak
Publication Date: Sep. 1, 2015

60e34-rcpr-blurb

Prequel novella to my new Hanover House Chronicles.

Welcome to Hanover House….

Psychiatrist Evelyn Talbot has dedicated her life to solving the mysteries of the psychopathic mind. Why do psychopaths act as they do? How do they come to be? Why don’t they feel any remorse for the suffering they cause? And are there better ways of spotting and stopping them?

After having been kidnapped, tortured and left for dead when she was just a teenager—by her high school boyfriend—she’s determined to understand how someone she trusted so much could turn on her. So she’s established a revolutionary new medical health center in the remote town of Hilltop, Alaska, where she studies the worst of the worst.

But not everyone in Hilltop is excited to have Hanover House and its many serial killers in the area. Alaskan State Trooper, Sergeant Amarok, is one of them. And yet he can’t help feeling bad about what Evelyn has been through. He’s even attracted to her. Which is partly why he worries.

He knows what could happen if only one little thing goes wrong…

 

my thoughts

I’ve been wanting to try one of Brenda Novak’s works for a while now and thanks to Netgalley, I was finally able to.

That said, this is obviously my first Brenda Novak novel. At fist I thought it’s some sort of a horror/paranormal spiel because the cover give off that spooky feel. But once I started reading and had an idea of what it was about, I’d say the cover made an absolute sense and portrayed the story really well.. It doesn’t always happen, so kudos to whoever made the cover.

The story was fascinating enough that I couldn’t put it down once I started reading it. The characters feel so real and though their experiences were totally different from I am, you could feel their fears, frustrations and hard work as though they are some person you know personally.

I’m really curious as to how everything will work for Evelyn. Will she and Amarok make it? Will the conflict will ever be resolved? How so? And the bonus chapter even had me more curious. I want to know now how Hugo will play in all of this.

Hanover House is one interesting and unique story I wish I could read the next one right now. Brenda Novak did a great job on this one.

images

purchase links

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Kobo

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

