Forever Marked by Lady J Reviewed

Standard

 

25863185

blurb

If you were a marked woman, how far would you run?

At only 23 years old, Ellora’s life is turned upside down. She captures the unwanted attention of a dangerously ruthless man, who’ll stop at nothing until he possesses her. Haunted by nightmares of the brutal attack she survived, Ellora flees the country desperate to hide. But, the longer she runs the deeper his obsession grows.

Behr is a hard working bachelor who’s life is stuck on repeat. Every single day is filled with the same people, and the same routine. That is, until a beautiful stranger stumbles into the local pub and into his heart. Even though he’s immediately drawn to her raven black hair and deep green eyes… he knows she’s hiding a secret. One he’s determined to uncover.

Can Ellora stay safe in this small harbor town?
Or
Has the twisted game of cat and mouse, just begun?

my thoughts

 

I should be ashamed to say I totally judged this book by this cover… I mean, I wouldn’t have bought it if not for the cover looking so alluring and enticing like that. I had my expectations set based on the cover.

Now that I get that little bit of information out of the way… let me start where the story began. When I started digging into the book, I was really sucked into it. The way the author started this novel was totally captivating. And it’s always a good thing when a story can capture my interest at the fist few pages. Even the accent of the people in the start was very fascinating. I didn’t feel like I was reading it. It felt like I was hearing it. Like a movie playing in front of me. That is also to say that the characters were so alive and distinct that they feel real.

However, I felt that along the way, specifically somewhere past the middle, it seems that the characters where not so consistent on how they speak anymore. Especially the main character Bher, there are points that I felt like he has lost his accent. Which bothered me because in the beginning I really felt like we have traveled from one place to another because there was an obvious distinct character trait to remind you of it.

But the thing that really had me off, was the fact that along the middle, I realized that this is no a paranormal romance. Or even just paranormal. You see, the cover had given me that sort of feeling that this is a paranormal/fantasy/or something alike novel. I know it’s totally my fault for not checking the blurb or checking what genre this author wrote, still I can’t help feeling like I’ve been cheated by the cover. Plus the way it was started, it really gave that paranormal vibe to it.

If I take into account that this is not a paranormal novel,I felt like it’s not that much different from the other suspense thriller I’ve read before. Even the conflict was not I’d say I haven’t read before either. It’s like the same plot written in a different point of view and voice.

However, the author, considering that this is her first novel did a really good job in writing the story smoothly. The characters were developed and you can clearly tell who’s speaking at which moment even if some of the nicknames could be easily messed up. There was part I felt was just added to make the story longer and didn’t have that much relevance but all in all everything went smoothly and I was able to enjoy the book was a whole. I didn’t feel like it was a first book by the author. I feel that she has a lot of potential and room to grow and develop her craft. That said, even if I was kind of disappointed, I won’t hesitate to pick up another novel of her in the future.

I do wonder if she plan to write a different genre, because honestly, with the way she started of this one, I’d say she could definitely pull off a paranormal genre.

 

3-stars-out-of-5

purchase links

Amazon | Barnes and Noble

About the Author

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

