There Are No Vampires In This Book by Megan Bailey Reviewed

Standard
ABOUT THE BOOK

Author: Megan Bailey

Title: There Are No Vampires In This Book

Pages: 171

Genre: New Adult

Date published: June 1, 2015

blurb

TARYN HAD NEVER BEEN NORMAL.
She wasn’t like other girls- not after that night, that thing, took her parents from her. She made it through hospitals, doctors, and therapy by playing by their rules and saying all the things they wanted to hear. But, inside, she held on to the truth.
She knew what she saw.

SHE SPENT HER TEEN YEARS PREPARING IN SECRET
With her two closest friends at her side, she dedicated herself to a mission. She would train and she would hunt. When the time came, she would be ready. No one she loved would be hurt by one of those monsters ever again

But with high school behind them, new found freedom comes with new responsibilities and new problems. Instead of weapons and self defense classes, she now has jobs and bills. The relation-ship with her best friend was suddenly shifting into new, scary territories. How could she take down bad guys if she couldn’t get her own life in order?

AND THEN THERE WAS HIM.
A mysterious stranger who pops up in suspicious places and throws off all sorts of bad vibes. His face now starred in her regular nightmares and plagued her thoughts in the day. Was she overre-acting? Or, was this finally the monster she had been waiting for? As the scars of Taryn’s past rise up to haunt her, she begins to question herself. With her mission faltering and her friendship off kilter, would life ever be the same again?
Would she ever be the same?

 my thoughts
“I am a product of my past, but I won’t let it define me. I will use it to be stronger. So when I am face to face with what made me, I will kick its ass.”
I got a copy of this book in exchange for a review and as part of a book-review sort of group/club I am in. One of them was very nice to tell the author I can’t afford it so technically, she’s the one who got me the copy of this book.
This book is very intriguing. From the cover up to its contents. I have wanted to read this book I found the title contradicting the cover. It makes me wonder whether or not there really are no vampires in this book.
I’d say Megan Bailey did a good job with this book. I feel like the main character was talking to me as I read along. I felt like Taryn was sharing with me a secret she hadn’t told anyone before. The best thing about this story was that it makes you think. You keep wondering whether the title will hold true till the end and sometimes, you doubt if the author was telling you the truth with that title. So you think of possibilities of what might happen and what really happened in Taryn’s past.
I’m not sure if it will count as a spoiler but as I was reading this, I kept thinking about an episode from BBC’s Sherlock. That episode and parts of this book made me think of what ifs and guess possible endings for the book. It made it more exciting for me thinking that way. Probably because it made me felt like Sherlock trying to uncover a mystery. So in a way, reading this book felt like watching a movie and playing detective.
Plot wise the story was unique. I also like how the journal entries were written differently. It made it easy for me to distinguish what I am reading. I also like that there was a hint of romance in it. I was just expecting a little more scene with the grandmother near the end and maybe an explanation or an account of events from to shed some light regarding her parent’s death. Although that might be awkward and embarrassing because I know for a fact that I suffered second hand embarrassment with that scene with Aiden.
All in all, this was an enjoyable read for me and I’d definitely like to read another book from this author.
Four-half-stars
author
 

Megan Bailey is a novelist and short story author. When not writing, she loves playing video games for way too many hours and reading everything she can get her hands on. Megan is married to her own wise-cracking, romantic hero. They live in Central Illinois with their two devious/darling daughters and three furbabies: Minna the boxer dog, Logan the black cat, and Gimli the dwarf bunny.

 Other Reviews for This Book

*I Loves To Read* Review

Platipyre – Jood Hooligan

The Bohemian Housewife

Celebrity Readers – Curly Carla

vs logo
5 responses »

Leave a Reply

