One-Click Favorites: Interview with Melissa Pearl

Standard
One-Click Favorites: Interview with Melissa Pearl

6c144-melissa2bpearl

INTERVIEW WITH MELISSA PEARL

Today I had the chance to interview one of the few NA authors that I read… Melissa Pearl. I love how her novels always involve mystery and suspense that when you start reading, you can’t put it down until you get to the end. The first novel of hers that I’ve read and fell in love with was I Know Lucy which is part of The Fugitive Series.

In celebration of her upcoming release The Spaces Beyond, a sequel to the novel The Spaces Between the Heartbeats, I requested for an interview which she gladly agreed to.

Melissa Pearl was born in Auckland, New Zealand, but has spent much of her life abroad, living in countries such as Jordan, Cyprus and Pakistan… not to mention a nine month road trip around North America with her husband. “Best. Year. Ever!!” She now lives in China with her husband and two sons. She is a trained elementary teacher, but writing is her passion. Since becoming a full time mother she has had the opportunity to pursue this dream and her debut novel hit the internet in November 2011. Since then she has continued to produce a steady stream of books, ranging in genres from Fantasy to Romantic Suspense to Contemporary Romance. She loves the variety and is excited about the books she has coming out in 2015. (quoted from amazon author page)

To date, she has 23 books available in the market in kindle or paper back as well as other formats.

Without further ado, here’s a few things for us to get to know her more.

All About Being a Writer

  • What year did you publish your first novel? 2011
  • What were you before you became an author?
    ~ A middle school teacher (Grade 7) & also a stay at home mother
  • How did you feel after you published your first book? Expectations?
    ~It was pretty exciting and nerve-wracking. It was really cool to have something online for people to read and I was getting really good reviews, so that part was excellent. If I’m honest, a small part of me was hoping for the Amanda Hocking effect, but I think I was realistic enough to know I wouldn’t get that. Trying to get noticed as an indie author has been much harder than I thought it would be.
  • Why did you choose to write New Adult and Young Adult?
    ~I started writing YA because of being a teacher. I wanted to write something that students could enjoy. I didn’t like reading that much as a kid and I wanted to write the kinds of books that I would have loved. I got into New Adult last year, because I wanted to start working with slightly older characters. Their situations & circumstances are just a little different to high schoolers and it’s fun working with slightly older issues.
  • Have you ever had a mental block before? If yes, how did you overcome it?
    ~ I get them sometimes during the planning phases of my stories…also sometimes during the middle. I tend to go for a walk or take a shower…or discuss it with my husband. One of those things will usually trigger a solution for me.
  • What was your fist novel and what inspired you to write it?
    ~ My very first novel isn’t published. It’s called the Bigger Picture and I may publish it one day, but it was more just a test run. My best friend told me to write it so she could read it 🙂 That’s what started me down this path and I’ll be forever grateful to her. My first published novel was Golden Blood * and I was inspired by the Twilight series. I wanted to write a YA romance that didn’t involve vampires and werewolves though…so I went for time travel, which was SO much fun 🙂
    *Golden Blood is currently free on all platforms
  • What is something in being an author that you can’t compare to any other job?
    ~I get to live in an imaginary world when I’m writing and I LOVE that!! It’s the best part about being an author for me and I couldn’t really get that anywhere else.  Also – the writing community is awesome. There are so many creative, kindred spirits and it’s so fantastic connecting with these talented people who are just as passionate as you are.
  • What is something you know now that you wish you knew before you started writing?
    ~Um – good question. I have learned SO much along this journey – it’s hard to pinpoint something specific. All the things I think of – like how hard marketing is and how nasty reviews can sting – if I knew those before, I may not have had the courage to publish my work…so I’m glad I didn’t know it. LOL 😀
  • How do you feel about having one/two star reviews (if there is any)?
    ~At first it used to bother me, but I’ve come to the realization that reading is subjective. Not everyone is going to love my work and that’s okay. I don’t love every book I read. People are entitled to their opinions and I’ve learned to brush off the negativity and then go read one of my 5-star reviews 🙂
  • What is something your fans/readers should look forward to?
    ~True Love (A Songbird Novel) is coming out in November and I’m REALLY excited to share that with my NA fans. For my YA readers, I have two novellas coming out in October, which accompany the re-release of Betwixt…now entitled The Space Between Heartbeats (published by Alloy Entertainment).

OFF THE GRID

  • Food that you won’t ever get tired of eating?
    ~Hamburgers (although I’m now gluten free, so I have to eat them bunless 😦
  • A place you haven’t been before but really want to go to?
    ~SO many places!!! I really want to do a castle tour of Europe 🙂
  • Do you have any pets?
    ~ No – my sons are like puppies, so I figure that’s close enough for now. LOL 🙂
  • Is there something you are afraid of?
    ~I wish I wasn’t, but I am really scared of falling, so heights and me are not a great combo
  • Most mistaken impression people have about you?
    ~Hmmm – I really don’t know! I don’t  know what people think about me. Haha! 🙂

FAST TALK

  1. Singing or Dancing? ~Singing
  2. Sailing or Flying? ~Hmmm – neither really…I guess I’d have to pick flying, inspite of my heights thing
  3. Hot or cold? Hot
  4. The world without music is _____________? ~Empty
  5. Your present life in a song? ~There are so many – but I’m going to go with “You’re Not Alone” by Owl City & Britt Nicole. It’s a constant comfort for me and I truly believe it 🙂
I hope you all enjoyed reading along my interview with Melissa Pearl. You can find a complete list of her books below.

MELISSA PEARL BOOK LIST

The Spaces Between Heartbeats
The Spaces Beyond (Upcoming Oct 15)

The Fugitive Series:
I Know Lucy (Currently Free) 
Set Me Free

The Songbird Novel:
Fever (FREE)
Bulletproof
Everything
Home

THE MASKS SERIES:
True Colors
Two-Faced
Snake Eyes
Poker Face

Elements Trilogy
Unknown
Unseen
Unleashed

The Time Spirit Trilogy
Golden Blood (Free)
Black Blood
Pureblood

Paranormal Pantry (Boxed Set)

Forbidden Waters
Forbidden Territory

Get Inked: Fantasy Sampler
Get Inked: Contemporary Romance Sampler

)
2 responses »

Leave a Reply

