This Crazy Love: A Green Brothers Novel (Crazy Mountain Series Book1) by S.H. Pratt Reviewed

Standard

sh pratt

sh pratt cov1

blurb

To say that Fiona Harper hated Montana was an understatement. The state, the town of Big Timber, and more specifically the Lazy D Dude Ranch induced terror, panic and fury. Only a deep and powerful bond of love for her sister, Brianna Rose, could bring Fiona back to Montana. Knowing that Briana needs her, Fiona agrees to return to the Lazy D Ranch in Montana, in spite of her desperate terror that her sanity and life hang in the balance.

Austin Green wanted the simple things in life… a quiet life with his horses and a family with the woman he loved. When his fiancée, Cassie, is killed in an accident on Christmas Eve, Austin’s life takes a sharp detour into a special misery where his anger rules him… consumes him. Five months after losing Cassie, Austin’s twin, Adam, finally pushes Austin too far. Fueled by his fury at Cassie, at Adam and at life in general, Austin decides to simply leave it all behind and taking a job as the head wrangler at a dude ranch in Montana seems to be the perfect place to learn to live with his loss and anger.

When Fiona arrives at the Lazy D Dude Ranch, she discovers that not only does she have a roommate, but he’s got his own demons that haunt him. During the day, Fiona and Austin tolerate each other, but at night, when Fiona’s nightmares overwhelm her, Austin becomes the only light in her dark existence. Slowly, their relationship becomes a friendship laced with a passion that Austin craves and Fiona doesn’t understand. But as the summer season nears its end, Fiona’s nightmares crash in on her and Austin can’t reach her. Can Austin and Fiona find their way back to each other before they give up?

purchase links

Barnes and Noble
iTunes
Amazon

my thoughts

This Crazy Love tells about a story of two characters that both have serous issues in their life that they can’t but needed to face. As I’m a person who hardly read the blurb, a few pages into the book and my first thought was, ‘these two charactcers seriously needs to see a professional for their anger management issues specially the guy. Well, I guess it’s a good thing because that meant that the author was able to deliver to the reader the kind of state the characters was in even without telling it.

It took me a few more pages to get me into the book. One I did, I can see that this book is not just another romance but moreover it’s about characters who got substance which means a good plot is waiting for me as I go on. Reading through the book felt like a slow process of getting to know the characters. Much like getting to know real people personally. The characters don’t just open up to you. I was okay with it at first. But along the way it kind of got old. I believe that even when at times the characters don’t want to open up with each other, they should at least at a time or two to open up to the readers. We need that in order to understand them. It is probably just me though. I know most readers would want to be kept in the dark and surprise themselves. For me though it’s what you call foreshadowing. Like showing a little bit of information that will lead to the conflict of the story but not too much that it will make the story predictable. Like those nightmares for example. I think it would have been better if at times that Fiona had those nightmares a bit of it was shown. It’s always just thrashing around the bed and vomiting afterwards every time that it happened. Reading those parts each time made me want to just flip through some of the pages and get to the bottom of it. Of course I didn’t do that. I tried to reign myself in.

I can see where the author was coming from and what she wished to achieve with the way she wrote the novel. The story was actually good. But it could have been great. The development of attraction and trust between the two main characters felt a bit lacking for me. They have issues and they are just supposed to understand each other but were not to talk about it. It’s good at the start but I expected the trusting and telling to go bit bit and not later all at once. It felt like the reason for the conflict was held back tightly then bulldozered all at once. The moment could have been really emotional and affecting for me except that all those times the two of them went around it in circles just had me thinking, Ah finally! Here they go.

Despite all of these, I can say that the author justified all the craziness that these two characters were showing all through the book. Knowing that redeemed the story and the way it was written for me. Also, behind all the things I’ve said above there are things I fell in love with the book. One of them is the setting. It was beautifully described that it came vividly in my head. I can imagine it very well as I read through and even felt the refreshing scenery the place bring. I also loved the other characters specially Charlie, Tawny and Bri. Bri and Dean’s affection for each other was also very endearing it made me want to read about them. I’m curious as to how Tawny will fair after a few more years into adulthood. And Charlie, he’s such a sweet cook I could almost taste how his cooking probably taste like heaven.

I was also about to mention how despite everything mentioned in this book that he characters was not able to totally heal, but I just found out that there’s a book two for the same set of characters so I guess I’ll hold back judgement on that aspect in the meantime. Fiona and Austin didn’t grew much character wise so I have high hopes on what would they be on the sequel of this novel.

All in all, this is a beautiful story. It talks about love and understanding even if at times you are hard to understand. More importantly, the story and the characters got substance.  Even if the way some parts of the book was written didn’t work for me but I know too that it’s just me and a lot would probably prefer it the way it was. And yes, I do want to read the next one.

3-stars-out-of-5

b446f-about2bauthor

I am a native Montanan and the youngest of seven children. I moved to Washington in 1998 and have lived here since. I am the mom of three gifted children who challenge me and frustrate me in equal measure. We currently reside in Olympia, Washington.

I began writing in high school, completing my first novel on a Commodore 64, saved on I can’t tell you how many floppy disks. I actually have no idea where that novel is and if I did, I’d have no way to retrieve it… I stopped writing to pursue my education but quickly realized I had no idea what I wanted to be when I grew up… oddly, I still don’t know. So I decided to find a “real job”. Over the course of the next twenty years, I was everything from a barista, to a restaurant manager, to a purchasing agent and an administrative assistant to the owner of a fire truck construction company and everything in between.

After having my children and they began reading, I noticed that the content of many books that they were able to comprehend was entirely inappropriate for their age and thought at the time that someone should write books that younger children with extreme vocabularies could read without destroying their innocence. Yet, I didn’t get serious about writing until a couple of years ago. By the time I worked up the nerve to attempt self-publishing, I’d amassed a stack of rejection letters and seven complete manuscripts.

I have begun writing a fantasy novel that my children could read with appropriate content that I hope is advanced enough to challenge their minds. But I prefer to write contemporary romance with a heavy emphasis on psychology and the emotions of my characters. I feel that if my reader can feel what the character feels and can identify with it, I’ve done my job.

Leave a Reply

