Illirin #1: Schism by Laura Maisano Reviewed

Standard

9780986093203_p0_v1_s260x420

blurb

Art therapy hasn’t done squat for Gabe Jones. A thousand sketches of his fiancée can’t bring his memory, or her, back to him. Nothing on Earth can. His past lies in another dimension, a world just out of sight.

Another student on campus, Lea Huckley, unknowingly shares Gabe’s obsession with the fourth dimension. The monsters from the other side attacked her parents and fled, getting her folks locked up in the loony bin. Proving this other world exists is the only way to free them. Lea and Gabe strike a deal to help each other, and together they manage to open a door to the world of Gabe’s true origin. She’d use him for proof-if she didn’t already care too much.

While Gabe tries to reconcile his feelings for Lea and his rediscovered memories of his fiancée, a much more sinister plot unravels. He uncovers his history just in time to become the unwilling lynchpin in a conspiracy to start a war. His memory holds the secret to the final riddle the would-be conqueror needs to get the upper hand. Gabe must protect the riddle at all costs, even if that means leaving Earth, and Lea, behind forever.

my thoughts

Warning:  Might contain spoilers…

Plot:

The author successfully created a new world that unite a fantasy and earth (reality) in  a way that is believable. Though I would have wanted to learn more of the technicalities regarding the wall that separates the two – called the thinnings. Other than those, I love how the author created the story revolving around this new world (Illirin) without totally taking the setting away from earth. And as a fan of the TV series Merlin, she really had me with the reference to Merlin and Morgana. I know it’s something that some people might dispute about but considering that she made her story revolving in a totally different world, it was something that drew me more to the book. I also like the fact that it was written in a third person point of you which as a reader allowed me to see the events as it was seen by different characters. If anything, I think the author needs a little improvement in having the readers not only see those events happening but to feel them as well. And as this is a YA Fantasy novel, I like that the characters do act their age and not the fantasy-romance kind where these kids act more like veterans of romance and along with their silly ideals of what love is about.

Characters:

Lea, the heroine was strong willed that not only inspire her to go through life with the baggage she was carrying but inspire others to do that as well. Characters like her are always fun to read than those damsel in distress that always needs saving. Gabe on the other hand was both a mystery and interesting character for me. It was said that he was charming but he was not aware of it. I was hoping that the author, would show me why some people say that about him. Matt – somehow I had a feeling that he will turn out the way he is. It was a feeling that I guess was a fruit of a good foreshadowing on the side of the author as that feeling didn’t ruin the twist for me even if I was somehow expecting it. And for me the author did a good job on that part. There’s nothing I hate more than characters and events turning out to be too much like it was planted it’s harder to become believable. The main antagonist, Heten Nor, he was there from the start but somehow, I felt like his anguish and hatred was not fully justified in this book. He kind of give the contrast impression that Matt gave to me. The rest of the characters are still waiting to be fully uncovered and there is still much room for growth for all them that made this series something to look forward to.

Setting:

My have a few question regarding thinnings and Schism that I hope will be answered on upcoming books. Looking at the cover, it’s not quite the way I imagined it to be. My brain is also nagging the question, what makes thinnings appear? How exactly does someone cross the boarder? Does it need a special talent to do that? Because while the heroine can easily find one she cannot easily cross it and the hero vice versa. Aside from this, the characters life in both worlds were described well by the author that I can vividly imagine it as I read along.

All in all, reading Schism was like being on a new adventure that I thoroughly enjoyed. There was enough drama, humor, a bit of romance and action that will have you holding through every page until you reach the end and looking forward to the next instalment.

four star

purchase links

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

8e5bf-vslogo

Leave a Reply

