Tales of the Fifth Guardian Book Two: Bonded by C.M. Johnson Reviewed

Standard

bonded

blurb

“I could not believe it when Keri went into a vision following the Council meeting; my heart almost stopped when she started screaming, ‘NO’.”

Kerreth’s first words to us as his journal entries join Kerrisha’s are filled with worry and concern that soon turn to fear as the still new Karth Tesha uses his abilities and Knowledge to help his young fiance. Did he go too far?

“Together for centuries in life and forever in the Power.”

That’s all Kerrisha dreams of as events speed her toward her wedding to Kerreth but what was in the vision that seized her as she left the Council chamber at the end of book one? What made her scream in terror? What is the secret she now holds and is desperate to protect? A secret she fears whe will see her placed on house arrest. So, can she hope to keep her secret long enough to break free of the Tower’s influence and begin to fulfill her destiny as the Guardian?

She can wish for happily ever after but, as the Queen of two clans, can she even hope for a normal quiet wedding? What about the traditions of the Lost Clans when it comes to a royal wedding in the Triad Clans? Control over her own wedding is ripped from Kerrisha’s hands as we meet another of the Lost Clans and travel to the hidden and protected world of the Below City. Keri sees a danger no one else does and cries to be heard once again as the wedding approaches and her timid twin sister, Kennisha, becomes a target herself. But Kerrisha is only looking forward, to after the wedding, to the Blood-bond Ceremony when she and Kerreth will link their souls within the Power. What is the one negative effect of the Blood-bond? Will she share it with Kerreth and can they overcome it?

Otlantesha dictionary and pronunciation key included after the story.

Caution: Some mature content

purchase links

Amazon

smashwords

Barnes and Noble

Plot: 4 stars

This book still hold all the uniqueness that book one had. That said, I should have retained my five star but I must be honest with myself. The long narratives right through the middle of the book was too much for me to take it had me falling sleep several times causing for me to not meet my self-imposed deadline in finishing this book. There were too much information on some parts of the books that could have been read easier had it been delivered differently. I think it’s the fact that this is a first person point of view that made it necessary to do those parts through long narratives. But like book one, it got better as you read along towards the end.

Characterization: I’d give it 3.5 stars.

Kerrisha – I still think I have to dig her character a little more before I truly like her. But compared to book one, I’d say she’s slowly growing on me. Maybe it’s the fact that she doesn’t sound too much tall, mighty and over confident in this book compared to the first one. It’s also nice to know that she’s starting to show some more human feelings like fear, anxiety, tiredness and all that that made her seem more real this time than before.

Kerreth – he’s proving to be a better hero than he was before.

Edwere – I would still rather have him as the hero. He’s so dependable and all that he vividly comes to my mind more than Kerreth does. It’s also nice to know that his character is growing better on this novel. I almost can’t wait t see more of his progress and growth in future books.

Jonathan – he’s more noticeable here than in book one. His presence was more apparent I was able to feel him as someone who is part of the story and not just someone who was mentioned in the story.

The siblings’ name was a bit of a deal breaker for me. I am someone who is really really really bad at remembering names. Having their names start with the same letters and sounding almost identical made it hard for me to remember who the sibling of whom is. That also made it harder for me to remember which of them possess what abilities and along with character attributes. Except maybe for David because he was in the beginning before everyone else was there.

Romance. 3.5 stars

I still don’t feel the romance between Kerreth and Kerrisha that much. Though I can see Kerreth’s love for Kerrisha better demonstrated here that in book one. Still, for me it was the adventures and mystery in the story that had me hanging to the book rather than the romance aspect.

Dialogue: 3.5 stars

Like the siblings, some of the dialogues had me in a jam. There are times I got lost to who is speaking with whom. And the characters having telepathic ability adds to the confusion. I often got lost when they are ‘sending’ – to a bunch or a single person- and when they are actually talking and then switching in between. There are times when my eyes jump to the next word before it even catch what was before that and that made it even worse. I think this is one aspect of the book which I couldn’t help myself as the author told me font styling is impossible to do with ebooks. It’s something I have to learn to accept and adapt as I read along.

Twist: 4

Kerrisha’s power to see the future was not as disturbing as it was in book one. The element of surprise was much better delivered here than the first book. The way the author ended this novel was a big reason for me to keep hanging on this series and wanting to read more.

All in all, Kerrisha and Kerreth’s journey as couples to the Tales of the Fifth Guardian is very unique and original I can say I haven’t read it before. It reminded me of the feelings I had for Disney’s “Atlantis the Lost Empire” which I watched as a kid. If you have seen that movie, you’ll know how exciting and colourful the adventure of the characters there are and that’s almost what The Tales of the Fifth Guardian had my imagination floating to. I said almost because it’s really incomparable as they were different. I was just trying to make a reference.

Despite the little bump of going through the middle part of the book, I can honestly say that I enjoyed reading the book. I love that the characters grow – physically, emotionally and ability wise. For me that’s a big deal. It made them feel more like real people and the scenes more realistic even though it is fantasy and fiction. C.M. Johnson really did a wonderful job at creating a new world with Tales of the Fifth Guardian.

four star

author

C.M. Johnson is a former teacher who lives with her husband in Tampa, Florida. As of the fall of 2013 she left education to pursue a degree in business while continuing her work on the Tales of the Fifth Guardian series.

Ms. Johnson has always been interested in mythology and the paranormal. Her Tales of the Fifth Guardian series brings those together by answering the question: What if the descendants of the survivors of Atlantis lived among us in modern times with all the power and abilities their ancestors were rumored to have?

Ms. Johnson theorizes that “Atlantis” was a corruption of the original name “Otland Iis” which she explains means “Otland Island” in the language of the People – Otlantesha. Ms. Johnson includes an ever increasing dictionary of Otlantesha, the language she has created for her characters, at the back of each volume.

Kerrisha Drew-Otlander (later Mermshire), is the main character and the Fifth Knowledge Guardian of the People of Otland Iis. She is also the rightful queen of two of the six clans of the people by right of birth. She has known she was to be the Guardian for a long time but now is the time to present herself to the People as such. The series follows Kerrisha through her struggles to be accepted and fulfill her destiny as the Guardian by reuniting the clans that have been warring for centuries. While it is classed as romantic fantasy there is a true story behind the romance, which often takes a backseat to the story itself and centers more on her relationships with the people the Power chooses to surround and support her. There are some VERY adult situations and it is meant for the adult audience but, there is also a reason behind even the most intimate scenes – It increases the strength of the links and bonds between Kerrisha and her protectors.

http://cmjguardian.wix.com/5thguardian

http://www.amazon.com/C.M.-Johnson/e/B00GGNAW3A/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

One response »

Leave a Reply

