The Temporary Promise and Matchmaking Pact by Bonnie Dee: Reviewed

Standard

 

The Promise Series
Five best friends scattered by time and distance will soon come together to witness the wedding vows of one. But in the meantime, each woman make pledges of her own and finds unexpected new love waiting just around the corner. Promises will be made and sometimes broken but sisterhood endures in this series about five forever-friends and the men who love them.
Book 1 – The Seduction Vow
Book 2 – The Temporary Promise
Book 3 – The Matchmaking Pact
Book 4 – The New Leaf Pledge
Book 5 – The Wedding Affirmation

thetemporarypromise

The Temporary Promise
Publication Date: February 16, 2014

Waitress and struggling actress Tara Rambeaugh has grown used to the idea that her career might not progress beyond an occasional commercial or role in local theater—until her best friend’s brother, Luis lights a fire under her by encouraging her to make a big move.

Soon Tara is taking more than career risks as she plunges headlong into a steamy relationship with the guy she crushed on as a teenager. But war veteran Luis has issues of his own, and Tara doesn’t know if either of them is ready to handle anything serious—even as her heart is falling deeper in love.

badge-addtogoodreadsamazonbadgenookbadgekobobadge

My Thoughts

I liked how this story progressed. The kind that took time for love to develop although I am not so sure if they did fell in love. It’s kind of vague to me whether Tara and Luis have come to a conclusion to what they really feel for each other except that they are both not willing to let each other go and that they are both willing to explore their relationship more. I think that kind of implied how the story will progress after the book ends but then it’s not really what you’ll call a happy ever after kind of ending. The title suited the story perfectly well because there’s nothing definite promised in it. Despite all that, I liked the story. I liked how Tara was confused most of the time as to how to handle her feelings for Luis and how she and Luis came to resolved that.

I also liked how Graci reacted to the news of her brother and her bestfriend going together. There was a tinge of really in it but at the same time I can’t help my self feeling disappointed in her. The ups and downs of their friendships was like a spice in this series. I hope to read more about them on the up coming books. Not only the other friends, I am also looking forward to reading more about what happens to everyone else’s love story when this series end. I don’t think it was really concluded on this book or on the next one. So yes, I am looking forward for more. Although by this time, I think I can say that I am getting used to the way Bonnie Dee writes. It’s kind of refreshing and her endings are something I don’t expect. Well, more like I’m still expecting to read more. The cliff hangers made me eager to read the next one. This series is the kind that you’d want to read when it’s complete because everybody’s life doesn’t end on a certain book. The conclusion is yet to come. Bonnie Dee kind of give a new meaning to the phrase “the story doesn’t end when the book does.”

four star

thematchmakingpact

The Matchmaking Pact
Publication Date: March 5, 2014

Corinne Cartright has an agenda: to snap up the office hottie before someone else does. She and her buddy Seth make a pact to each try to land their current crushes and, failing that, to set each other up with the perfect match.

But learning more about her friends’ romantic choices causes Corinne to rethink what she wants from a relationship. Is it possible that the man of her dreams has been right in front of her all this time?

badge-addtogoodreadsamazonbadgenookbadgekobobadge

My Thoughts

Corrine and Seth’s story was probably the most romantic of the three so far. I’m not usually into friends into lovers story, but I’d prefer the friends into lovers story over   whirlwind romances anytime. I have this belief that love is something that takes time to develop. That made me understand why Corrine didn’t see instantly how she and Seth could be a couple. I like how the story when to the stage where she was in denial first before coming into the realization of it. It gives the feeling that love was there even before she knew it.

Although this one has ended in another cliff hanger, I think this one has the most implied happily ever after in the series so far. Maybe because Corrine and Seth made me feel that they really are in love and given the chance, they will take that vow to forever anytime. The thing about the way Bonnie Dee ends her books, it gives you room to think for yourself what happens next and maybe even lets you formulate your own ending to the story. I am not sure if that’s a bad things, as for now, I am reserving some of my judgement until I read the last book on this series.

So far, I fell in love with Seth when he made that big gesture. For a guy defined like he was, I find that really endearing and romantic. I also like how Corrine is comfortable with her the way she is with a friend because that’s what they are, friends. You can understand the bond and trust between them and that alone gives you a glimpse of a beautiful happy ever after even if it wasn’t really stated. You know there’ll be bumps in the road for the two of them but that bond and trust makes you believe that they could get through all of that successfully.

Bonnie have manage to have my interest hook in this series. I look forward to what awaits Adya and Bree and how the rest of everybody’s story will be concluded.

four star

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Bonnie Dee began telling stories as a child. Whenever there was a sleepover, she was the designated ghost tale teller, guaranteed to frighten and thrill with macabre tales. She still has a story printed on yellow legal paper in second grade about a ghost, a witch and a talking cat.

Writing childish stories for her own pleasure led to majoring in English at college. Like most English majors, she dreamed of writing a novel, but didn’t have the necessary focus and follow through at that time in her life. A husband, children and work occupied the next twenty years and it was only in 2000 that she began writing again. Bonnie enjoys reading stories about people damaged by life who find healing with a like-minded soul. When she couldn’t find enough books to suit her taste, she began to write them.

Connect with Bonnie

Website ~ Facebook ~ Twitter

 

vs. The Writer Facebook Page

vs logo

Leave a Reply

