Texas Titans 1: Strike Out by Cheryl Douglas: Reviewed

Texas Titans 1: Strike Out by Cheryl Douglas: Reviewed

strike out

Purchase Links:

Amazon US |Amazon UK | Barnes & Noble | iTunes

Book Facts:

  • Print Length: 215 pages
  • Release Date: October 29, 2013
  • Author: Cheryl Douglas
  • Language: English


When professional baseball player, Zach Foster, agreed to go into business with five of his best friends, he didn’t expect their little sports bar to evolve into a national chain, spanning fifty states, but it did. The business helps to fill the void in Zach’s life during the off-season, but when he closes his eyes at night, he still can’t forget the girl who left that gaping hole in his heart when she left him standing at the altar.

Lauren ‘Rennie’ Alexander would do anything to fulfill a sick child’s wish. Not only is it her job, as director of the Sky’s the Limit Foundation, but it’s her passion. So when her assistant brings her a letter scribbled in crayon, complete with an application from the little boy’s loving parents, Rennie is ready to make another dream come true. Until she realizes that sick little boy’s dream is her worst nightmare. He wants to meet his hero, baseball player, Zach Foster. The same lying jerk who broke Rennie’s heart. It’s seems she has no choice but to take one for the team.

My Thoughts

This novel is about a woman who was suppose to marry the love of her life but on the night before their wedding she heard him saying something that made her walked away believing he meant every word even if in reality he doesn’t. After ten years, circumstances brought them back together making her face the consequence of her actions years ago and the wrath he might bestow on her once he find her secret.

If there’s one flaw to this novel, it is having a common plot. It lacks the element of surprise that made most novel exciting and the readers looking forward to what the next page awaits. However, even though I have read about a hundred of this kind of novel, and even though I have an inkling of how the story will progress and end, I find this novel refreshing for the following reasons…

First, in this day and age where erotic romance seems to be the mainstream of romance literature, it’s nice to read about stories like this where you get to see or take a second look at what love is about. This book tells about the kind of love that took time to bloom and as well as feelings that have stood the test of time. It’s like an adult fairy tale. The kind of goes happily ever after surviving the realities of life.

Second, the writer has a way with words. Emotions are something that are not easily put into words. Yet, despite the common plot, the author have manage to dress it with raw emotions that one that you can feel piercing into your heart just by reading them. And that was what made the book so hard to put down even if you can guess what will happen next. I may have read a hundred of stories like this, but I definitely didn’t feel all the emotions I have felt in this novel a hundred times. Only few authors can make me feel that way which makes me think that having the emotions by the characters be felt by the readers deep within is actually a gift. Something that you either have or you don’t. And Cheryl Douglas definitely have that gift.

Next is the hero Zach. I love how his feelings were very apparent from the beginning till the end. In romance novels like this, the hero are usually the latter to define their feelings for the heroine. But Zach here was not like that which made him an endearing book boyfriend material.

And since this is a series, it makes you curious about all the characters aside from Zach and Rennie. The author have manage to squeeze really interesting characters other than the main ones that will have you looking forward to the next book.

four star

About the Author

Cheryl began her professional career as a nutritionist, but her love of books started at an early age. She studied writing for many years before she decided to pursue her passion as a full-time career. After receiving constructive criticism from several well-known authors, Cheryl finally had the confidence to write her first romance novel.

The first book in the Nashville Nights series, Shameless, was a book that had been dwelling in Cheryl’s subconscious for years. For her, the surprise came when the manuscript began taking on a life of it’s own. Characters came to life, secondary characters became more prominent, outlines were forgotten, and a single title evolved into an eight book series, and another eight book spin-off series entitled Nashville Nights, Next Generation.

One word would aptly describe Cheryl: workaholic. She lives and breathes her writing, when she’s sleeping, watching TV, driving, reading… it’s always in the periphery of her mind. Her imagination rarely takes a holiday, even when she escapes to a sandy beach with her husband and son, she’s planning, plotting, outlining, and daydreaming.

Cheryl feels blessed to be able to get up every day and do something she loves. The thousands of fans who have embraced the Nashville Nights have made that possible. She writes for the readers who ask for more, she writes to satisfy the muse residing inside of her, but most of all, she writes because she couldn’t imagine doing anything else with her life. It took her thirty-seven years to decide what she wanted to be when she grew up, but now that she knows, she’s convinced she’s found her purpose.


Website | Facebook


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s