The Piper Anderson Series by Danielle Stewart: Reviewed

Standard

Book 1 and 2 of the Piper Anderson Series has been sitting on my kindle for quite sometime now and I never really bothered to read the book until a week ago when I won a kindle copy of book 3. Right then I decided to buy the rest of the book and a couple of days ago, I found myself not wanting to be bothered until I have read all of them.

Today, I want to share with you my reading experience of this wonderful series. Though forgive me if at some point I mess up the details of which scene goes where. I’ve read the series in one sitting and I’m really having a hard time  remembering where one book ends and the other started. Without further ado, let me dig in deeper to the stories…

Chasing Justice

17844769

~BLURB~

Piper Anderson has been given a fresh start in the picturesque town of Edenville, North Carolina. But her plans of settling into a normal life are derailed when she witnesses a prominent judge in her community committing a violent assault. Running from her own past and fueled by a passion to make the judge answer for his crimes, Piper is forced to decide if she’ll play by the rules or achieve justice in her own way.

Complicating things further, Piper finds herself fighting a powerful attraction to rookie cop, Bobby Wright. Although she’s increasingly enamored with Bobby, his staunch belief in the justice system is in stark contrast to her own. She may not share his opinions about the effectiveness of the law, but she certainly can’t deny how safe she feels when she’s in his arms or how every kiss leaves her desperate for more.

For Piper, the idea of finally living an ordinary life with a man to love is tempting. However, fate keeps placing the judge, quite literally, in her path. Will she decide the only way to win is to be as wicked as the judge, but with righteous intentions? And more importantly, will Bobby choose to let her go, or follow her as she crosses the line and takes justice into her own hands?

MY THOUGHTS

The way the story kicked off with Piper’s point of you, my interest and curiosity was already on maximum level. The words, “So what are you gonna do?” was playing over and over in my mind as I read along. That day when Piper was at the diner spying on the judge, I felt like I was sitting behind her spying on her.

This book had me wanting to literally go inside the book a few times and give my two cents on the situation. Like that day when Piper met Bobby, I felt like I want to drag her away immediately and tell her, “You’re blowing your cover!” When in reality, I don’t even have an inkling of what exactly she plan on doing or if she even has one. All I know is that, I understand her feeling why she wanted to do it.

As the story goes and characters were unveiled, I got more attached with Piper. I felt her confusion that first time she was invited for a social visit and though it cracked me up a bit, my heart went out to her at how lost she was. I felt happy for her as she slowly learned to open up herself. Felt nervous when she went snooping around and as irritated and lost with her situation with Bobby.

Funny thing is, on the onset of the budding romance, I was wishing it would be her and Michael instead. I guess, Michael had me with his lawyer charms while Bobby kind of made me stiff for being too righteous for a cop. But then I think Danielle Stewart was brilliant to made it as it was because it was certainly better.

The fun, the adventure, even the hits and misses of the characters in this series was something that will have not only  have your attention but your emotion as well. And in this time where erotica is taking over the literary world, I give this book a huge applause and an standing ovation. This is the first time I’ve read an English romance novel without a love scene! Don’t get me wrong, I don’t have anything against erotica. But there’s too many of them right now and most of them (I’m not saying all of them) are all about the love scene and there’s hardly any story. This book, this is all about the story. Which made me proud of the author. She truly went for something different. And even if I don’t know her, I’d say she went for something more like her and succeeded at it.

images

Cutting Ties

images

~BLURB~

Against all odds, Piper Anderson has managed to pick up the pieces of her life. She’s holding tight to her budding romance with Officer Bobby Wright, anxious to have her moment with him. Now encircled by fiercely loyal friends, she finally feels like she’s standing at the edge of a normal life. That is until reports of a brutal attack at the local college campus turn her dream of happily ever after into a nightmare. The unmistakably familiar details of the attack are an instant reminder of the chains tying her to people and places she so badly wants to escape.

With her life and friends in danger, Piper must confront her past in order to fight for her future. To make matters worse, Piper and Bobby once again find their moral compasses pointing them in opposite directions. But what Piper doesn’t know is that Bobby has secrets of his own. How can their love survive when their pasts have shaped them so differently? Piper’s choices could bring her the freedom she yearns for, but will cutting ties with the past sever her relationship with Bobby?

MY THOUGHTS

If the first installment of this series had me asking Piper What are you going to do? This second book had me asking myself What am I gonna do? 

If I were to summarize this book in one word, I’d say CROSSROADS. What make you choose your choices? This book digs deeper into the past of the characters that shaped their being. A look into their past that will help you understand what made them decide the way they did and would even make you want to ask yourself what you’ll you if it was your decision to make. And honestly, I don’t know if I should be happy or scared with the way I answered that question.

If book 1 made me feel like I was there with Piper, watching over her, anxiously waiting about what she’ll do next, this book lead me to the extra mile of being just there to being the character. That is saying that it’s not just my emotion involve now but my whole being. I was just so glad that there’s Michael, Betty and Jules for Piper to give their support because it was seriously a heck of a ride.

Even Chris’ presence in this book was something I really appreciate. And I didn’t expect it coming, but I really admired his character. I think it’s those situation where one person is put in an edge that you really get to see their personally deeply and more real. The decision Chris made, why he did it and the fact that he could have chosen not to do it, I really think that’s admirable of him. And if he have made grave mistake, that certain situation, I want to believe that he was able to redeem himself. Even if it’s something that not everyone will agree.

I felt Bobby’s confusion for the things he believed and what was before his but sometimes, I want to go inside the book and slap him in the face and ask if he really has his eyes open and if not I might just open it for him. But then if I think more logically, I’d say I get where he’s coming from even if I don’t agree with him. So I guess the space between Bobby and Piper was definitely needed.

Have I mentioned Jules? If not, I guess it’s time to say I love her with Michael even if most of the time I felt frustrated with how hard headed she can be. I like how despite being a best friend of Bobby’s, she manage to be a great friend to Piper and that’s saying something when your ready to jump on board to support your friend with something totally uncertain.

images

Changing Fate

2940148641018_p0_v1_s260x420

 

~BLURB~

To Piper Anderson, fate has always been that unavoidable circumstance that befalls a person. Some people are destined to be happy, and others, like Piper, have a rougher road. Each time she tries to step off her predetermined path in search of happiness, someone or something drags her back to it. Heartbroken after Bobby allows his own past to come between them, Piper is eager to leave Edenville behind.

With Jules as her companion, she heads back to New York, the place where it all began, in search of a piece of her history that isn’t tarnished. Although finding the truth isn’t nearly as difficult as Piper imagined it would be, she can’t shake the feeling that what she has discovered may be too good to be true. Can Piper find what she is looking for and finally change her own fate?

MY THOUGHTS

In this book where Piper went to chase for her roots, I find that Jules and Piper was really a good tandem. They balance each other out. The emotions that Piper need a little more learning, Jules was overflowing with it and vice versa. So I guess, it was perfect to have Jules be with Piper on this quest.

The first two books had me all emotionally and mentally invested that in this book I am a little bit cynic. I know there’s more with what I am reading that’s why I have learned to raise my guard. The only question is, why is Piper isn’t doing the same?

I had all kinds of thoughts to what it might be and I was surprise when I found out what exactly it was. And once again, I felt proud of Bobby and Michael for the length they are willing to go for the sake of their love ones. Betty on the other hand who have always give the humor side of story was another surprise that I welcome in this book.

After the roller coaster ride since book 1, with Changing Fate, I felt that Bobby and Piper was indeed opening the door to a happy beginning.

four star

Finding Freedom

51R1kbfIa0L._AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-52,22_AA300_SH20_OU15_

~BLURB~

No matter what people tell him, Jedda Wright is convinced he’s nobody’s hero. He’s made his mistakes and paid dearly for them over the years. Suddenly freed from his past he’s forced to find his way in a world he hardly recognizes. He’s written himself off as a lost cause and pushes away any chance at love. Has he been punished enough to be worthy of his redemption or when given the chance will he make the same mistakes again?

Willow has risen from the ashes of her former life and become one of the privileged. The knowledge that she did so at the expense of her brother’s freedom has always haunter her. Now that Jedda’s back should she finally thank him for the sacrifices he made to protect her? Or when her messy relationships follow her to Edenville will she inadvertently force her brother to risk his freedom again to save her life?

Surrounded by Edenville’s own ragtag team of do-gooders will Jedda and Willow navigate the dangers of their new lives and be able to find their freedom? Or will they both end up alone, back where they started?

MY THOUGHTS

I never looked at freedom so literally before but with Jedda, Bobby’s brother being added into the picture, I was brought to look in a whole new perspective of things.

This time around, those emotions I had when I felt irritated to Bobby was directed to a new person name Willow. I felt like I don’t know her yet but I can’t help myself feeling all worked up with the way she reacted and decided on things most of the time. And it mades me feel guilty for looking at her situation with the way most of the people around her did. I guess it’s because I feel Jedda’s sacrifice was something that shouldn’t be dealt lightly and had to be compensated with how Willow will act on it.

This book is not just about Jedda and Willow though, it’s also about Betty and Clay though I must admit they make me feel awkward – something I don’t really know how to explain. Of Michael and Jules and their little one and still of Piper and Bobby and their bright future ahead of them.

I love that Betty got a second chance at love, that Jules could be so selfless as to sacrifice her wedding and how Betty knew her so much not to thread on what her daughter was saying. I felt happy seeing Piper being emotionally grown up, and seeing Bobby more free of the past that had him torn before. I love how Michael and Bobby built this friendship that got them supporting each others back and same goes with Piper and Jules.

Though this book is more about Jedda and Crystal, I love that you get to see everybody else in a better light. I love books where you see characters grow, learn and stand up from where life knocked them down. And this series was about all of those for all the characters and not only Piper. And like what I’ve said in my other reviews, I love books that tells great stories of family and friendship and this book is about that. In fact, for me this is not even a romance or suspense story, this is about life, family, friendship, of growing up and learning to understand people who’s walking with a different shoes.

I really enjoyed going through the journey with Piper and the other characters in this book. I fell in love with Michael to the point of hoping there’s him and Piper, but totally change my mind when Jules entered the scene. I have grown to understand Bobby and admire his ideals. I’m all heart with Betty and her cooking and the way she understood everyone else. I even love Edenville even if it’s people are sometimes disappointing. I long to read more about Chris and of Piper’s family. I am actually looking forward to read more about them and a bit disappointed that I didn’t. But hey, there’s still a next book and there’s still Betty’s journal and the novella that I haven’t read.

Danielle Stewart did an amazing job writing this series and you bet, I’ll eagerly look forward to the the next one.

images

Amazon Purchase Links:

Chasing Justice (Free)

Cutting Ties

Changing Fate

Finding Freedom

Other Books by Danielle Stewart:

Choosing Christmas – Holiday Novella – Chris & Sydney’s Story
Betty’s Journal – Bonus Material(suggested to be read after Book 4)

Half of My Heart (The Clover Series Book 1)

Change My Heart (The Clover Series Book 2)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Valerie Shyne
Leave a Reply

