Blog Tour: The Game, Kirsten Backhard by Shawnte Borris

Standard

 
SYNOPSIS
 
Kirsten Backhard is a highly respected senior negotiating executive who plays with some of the most powerful men in her field.
She is confident, sexy and hell on heels. She fights with a straight face, doesn’t back down easily and she has no scruples about using her ASSets to get the deal done her way.
Kirsten loves the thrill of toying with the game in a man’s world. She is in control of both her professional and personal life, until one heartbreaking night changes everything and for the first time she starts losing.
Can Kirsten negotiate the game of love as well as she does at work? Can she play a love-em and leave-em game as well as a man does? 
Or did she already lose when her heart was dealt to the one man who broke it?
Contains crude language, sexual intercourse, and really bad jokes.
 
EXCERPT
First of all, Mother, it is called a sperm bank, not a sperm bar.I cannot believe I am having this conversation right now. “And where did you get this information from?”
Max looked over at me, smirking.
“Why does it matter where I heard it from? What will people think?” cried my mother.
“F**k! Mom, no one is gonna care where or how I get a baby.” I want to crawl into a hole and die. “Mom, you wouldn’t by any chance be talking to Marie, would you? Is that where all this came from? Did she tell you I’m planning to go to a spermbank? Or did she tell you I should think about going to a spermbank?”
“That’s not the point, Kirsten. The point is that it’s time for you to settle down and think about having a family. You need to be more like Marie,” mmom lectured.
“Like MarieMy sister, Marie? The one who wears yoga pants and ponytails everywhere.”
MY  THOUGHTS
I was hesitant finishing the book when I started reading it. But I’d say I was glad I did. The first few chapters didn’t really caught my attention. Probably because Kirsten in those chapters is not the kind of heroine I go for a romance novel. And her attitude was something I find a little off for someone professional and with a family background such as hers. Her language doesn’t seem to suit her.   I am not against cursing and swearing if it’s necessary but as I said it doesn’t suit her character. It’s probably just me and I was just caught off guard because of our culture differences ( yeah, I know it’s just a novel, but when I read, I look at characters as if they’re real and existing). It contradicted her poise and elegance. Plus the way she reacted on the earlier scenes was plain stupid and for me was a total turn off for a romance novel heroine.  But like I said, I was glad I finish reading the book because it has so much more to offer once you get into the middle till the end. Plus, Kirsten kind of grew on me by then.
Another reason that got me a little off on this novel was a little more on the technical side. As this novel shows the perspective of many characters, I think it would have been better if it was written in third person POV. Writing in first person POV and switching that POV with each character and re-writing several scenes on a different characters perspective kind of throw me off my attention. Again, this is just my opinion as I am someone who hate being told something repeatedly and having to read a scene that way gets me bored.

Drew on the other hand was a total hottie and hero material. I understood his reactions more and though they are sometimes not what I wish he reacted, I’d say the way he did was very human and I just ended up saying I can’t blame him. Moreover, I like how he made up to Kirsten for all his screw up reactions. And I think the way he planned

things for the both of them was really romantic.
Although I must admit, what really got me was Derek, Kirsten’s twin brother. I kind of like the way they treat each other. I was kind of hook and was waiting on what will happen to Derek and I was surprise by how things ended up for him as well as with Liz. Caroline and Adam was also a something to look forward too.
As the novel goes, I slowly appreciated Kirsten character and love what she is inside once you get to know her. As I finished reading the book, I found myself itching on having the next ones on my TBR list. I felt excited on what story lies ahead to the other characters in this novel. And hands down to Derek, he remained to be my favorite character in this book from the moment I met him till I read the end.
For me, good stories become great ones depending on how the author expressed them. And story wise, I’d say that this is a good novel but I think that Shawnte Borris have somthing more to offer within her and that something is what I am excited to see and read about on her future books that will definitely go in my TBR list.
Well, I hope this helps. And if you haven’t read the book, please do. If you don’t mind switching POVs this book might be a great read for you. All in all I enjoyed reading the book to it’s end and I am looking forward to read the next one.

download

PURCHASE LINKS
 
 
AUTHOR BIO
 
 
Shawnté lives in central Alberta, with her husband Ricky of 10 amazing years and together they have two beautiful children. Somehow her husband has managed to trick her into running a cow/calf operation. As much as she fusses about it, she loves it.
When Shawnté is not sitting at her kitchen table hammering away on her laptop while watching the moose chase her cows across the yard, yes this really happens. Then she is busy attend school activities, community events and chauffeuring children here and there. She is big on playing softball and watching hockey.
When the time comes to relax, you will find her snuggled underneath her down comforter reading on her Ipad. Wait…who are we kidding, if the dishes, vacuuming, laundry or the bathrooms needs a hose down, you’ll always hear her say, “Just after this chapter.” She doesn’t have a favorite author or best story because everyday she falls in love with someone new.
Shawnté is technology challenged so you won’t find her on twitter (heaven knows she tried) or instagram – whatever this stuff is called. But she can work one hell of a facebook pagethanks for her fictitious assistant Lacy. Please go like her page and leave a review/star rating on the books she’s wrote.
Leave a Reply

