Ruth Cardello’s Legacy Series: Maid for the Billionaire and For Love or Legacy Reviewed

Standard

After reading Ruth Cardello’s Maid for the Billionaire, I knew in my heart that she will be forever one of my favorite authors. Today, I was suppose to write a review on her latest release in the Legacy Collection, Breaching the Billionaire but then I decided that if I will do this, I have to do it right. And that means, starting from where it all started… Dominic Corisi and Abigail Dartley’s love story. So today, let me share with you my opinions on the first two books of her Legacy Series.

MAID FOR THE BILLIONAIRE

cover

~Blurb~

Dominic Corisi knew instantly that Abigail Dartley was just the distraction he was looking for, especially since having her took a bit more persuading than he was used to. So when business forces him to fly to China, he decides to take her with him, but on his terms. No promises. No complications. Just sex.

Abby has always been the responsible one. She doesn’t believe in taking risks; especially when it comes to men – until she meets Dominic. He’s both infuriating and intoxicating, a heady combination. Their trip to China revives a long forgotten side of Abby, but also reveals a threat to bring down Dominic’s company. With no time to explain her actions, Abby must either influence the outcome of his latest venture and save his company or accept her role as his mistress and leave his fate to chance. Does she love him enough to risk losing him for good?

My Thoughts

Honestly, I’m not a fan of whirlwind romances. Simply because I believe that love takes time to grow or at least it take time before you realized that love hit you already. Nonetheless, I was drawn to Dominic. Not because he’s handsome and rich and all that. It was more on the character that lies deep with and underneath the facade the he put on. I’d say that I was hooked with the book even though it was not my kind of story because I felt Dominic as someone real, not just a character inside the book. Reading along his story is like being inside the book and watching him unfold to the better person that even he wasn’t aware that exist. And I’d say that’s one of the reasons that made me realize that Ruth Cardello will onward be among my favorite, because she has this ability to make the characters alive. They feel, and breath, and see and smell…. they get hurt and fell in love the way you and I does.

Abigail Dartley on the other hand is someone easier to relate to. The responsible sister, cautious, living a simple life that you and I possibly live to. But she’s not all that, she has this will power that won’t be broken even in front of a mountain of troubles. I think I fell in love with Abby first before I fell in love with Dominic. Heck! I actually even opened up first to Mrs. Duhamel’s character than with Dominic. But it is because of that that I appreciate getting to know Dominic better. That underneath all the riches he’s just someone who also feel afraid – afraid that he might turn out to be the person he hated most, a caring brother who only wanted the best for his sister even if he don’t want to admit it, and most of all, a man in love that doesn’t want to admit it simply because he doesn’t think that he deserve it.

I know it would be hypocrite of me if I’d say that he’s not romantic. It may not be my type of love story but Dominic and Abby’s story is definitely romantic. Who doesn’t want to be swept off on your feet, be taken to a different country as if your presence is the only thing that matter even though it doesn’t seem to make sense. I think that’s when I fell in love with Dominic, when he can’t reason it out yet he wants Abby because as he said she calmed him.  After all, true love is when you can’t find a reason why you feel it right?

Jake’s character on this first book was someone who made me felt torn. On the onset of the book it was clear that he and Dominic where good friends that’s why along the middle, I felt torn. Like Abby, not wanting to believe what I was reading about him. Good thing he have proven his self on the end. Aside from the love story, I always like reading great stories of friendships. It’s always a good bonus for me. And Jake Walton is no different.

Maid for the Billionaire didn’t only had me falling in love, it also made me see life at a better light. And also see anger and forgiveness in a whole new angle. This is another strong point of Ruth Cardello. You can have a glimpse of how she  sees life with the way the story goes and I really really find that amazing of her.

four star

For Love or Legacy

cover

~Blurb~

Nicole Corisi will lose her inheritance if she doesn’t find a way around the terms of her father’s will, but she will have to partner up with her estranged brother’s rival to do it. As pretense becomes painfully real, Nicole will have to choose between Stephan or the family he is driven to destroy.

Stephan Andrade has been planning his revenge ever since Dominic Corisi unscrupulously took over his father’s company. With Corisi Enterprises gambling its reputation on the success of a new software network for China, Stephan finally has his chance to take back his legacy. Dominic’s younger sister, Nicole, asks Stephan for his help and provides him with an opportunity to exact his revenge on a personal level.

It all goes smoothly until he falls in love.

My Thoughts

On Maid for the Billionaire I was kind of both and annoyed and excited with Stephan Andrade. Annoyed because he seem like a pompous ass on the first book but I was also excited because I’m dying to know what had happened for him to hate Dominic like that. And the story didn’t disappoint me.

It actually took me a while before I warmed up to Stephan and that is because I have like Maddy immediately after reading about her. I mean, what kind of cousin just left a pregnant woman like that? But then I guess it was meant to happen that way because how Nicole and Maddy built their friendship was something special and heart warming. I also love the Andrade family immediately. I grew up in a family where cousins are like brothers and sisters and aunts and uncles are like mom and dad. It made me fit in easily in their family. I also loved how they help one another and even Nicole to work her way back to Stephan’s heart. This book is not only romantic but it’s funny too. I find myself laughing and smiling with all the antics of the Andrade family and also the so called Seduction methods of the Andrade women. They were really cool.

But I guess, among all the characters in this book, it was Jeff that I really like the most. I’d say he’s the best limo driver in town. I love his wit, and humor and even his sarcasm sometimes. I think part of why Nicole was able to successfully pass all her ordeal was because Jeff was there.  It would be great if he’d have his own story. If that will happen, I will surely look forward to reading that.

For me, For Love or Legacy is not only about reclaiming the love of your life and the legacy you’ve worked so hard for.  This book shows how sometimes, what you see is not really what is there, and that though parents only want what’s best for their children (like in Stephan’s case), the best that we want for them may not be what they needed.  It is also about what true success is all about and that revenge is not always the best way to feel good.  What I love most in this book is the part where all of them (Stephan, Dominic and Jake) were willing to put behind their animosity with each other because it’s what Nicole needed. Putting other’s sake before yours. I know it’s not something easy and that made them truly admirable. It’s also nice seeing Dominic in this book a truly different man than when the series started.

What I always look forward in a good novel is how the characters develop, grow and come out of their cocoons as butterfly. And Ruth Cardello manage to do that in these two books in a way that not only the characters grow but the readers as well. What I also like about this two book is how Ruth Cardello managed to craft a beautiful love story without the presence of a third party. And of course, the way that her outlook in life shines through the pages is truly magnificent and another thing I look forward to. I’d say I’m lucky for having found this series, because every page of each book is worth the time and penny.

four star

Purchase Links:

 Amazon US | Amazon UK | Barnes & Noble

Author Bio: Ruth Cardello 

NY Times and USA TODAY Bestselling Author of the Legacy Collection and the Texan Nights Series
Ruth Cardello lives on a small farm in Northern Rhode Island with her husband, three kids, three dogs, two horses, and some assorted chickens. If there is a happier place on Earth, she hasn’t found it.
If you’d like to email her directly, you may contact her at Minouri@aol.com

 

>>>V.S. 1/22/14<<<
2 responses »

Leave a Reply

